Majong village 2

I just found this post in my drafts and decided to just post it, even though it’s been a long time since I worked on this.

This is a freelance job me and my mom was doing in March of this year. The task was to create a background for the level selection screen of one game.

Another reason is that I just got another order from this client and just started to work on it. It’s very cool because, from all the freelance work that I was doing, this was the only one that was related to Game Design and now I got another one.

FlyingVillageFinal

Before I begin, I just wanted to tell anyone who reads this (if someone still does) that I’m going to migrate this site to another domain – egorakita.com.
It’ll look a bit different and have a slightly different purpose (more of a selling one, with a big stress on my professional portfolio), but I’ll save all the posts from this blog there.

Okay,  so the picture at the top of the post is a final result, the one that was accepted by the client.

The main theme of the village was “Flying island” Here’s a reference sheet that I created first:Untitled-3

Here’s the development process in one gif (it lacks the final variant and some stages in the middle though):

Changes

And here’s the entire process in one gallery:

Here are also some separate elements:

And here’s the sky ship and the reference picture to compare (it’s from one of my favourite books, Edge Chronicles):

Leave a Reply

